Landingpage available in the following languages:
or select your TÜV Rheinland region / country website:

Safety Instrumented Systems

Rockwell Automation

Rockwell Automation is a recognised course provider of the TÜV Rheinland Functional Safety Program for Safety Instrumented Systems.

The TÜV Rheinland Functional Safety Program provides evidence of training and competence in functional safety, certified by an independent and internationally respected organisation.

The Rockwell Automation FS Engineer program is a 4 day workshop based course that provides hands-on skills and background knowledge. The program enables engineers to manage process risks and undertake safety related activities in order to discharge their legal and regulatory responsibilities to the recognised standards, consistent with their organisation's commercial and contractual objectives.

The course will provide a detailed understanding of the application and requirements of both IEC61508: the generic standard for Functional Safety and also IEC61511: the Process Industry implementation.

References to both standards will be provided and the relationship between the standards will be explained.

This training is led by Keith Kirkcaldy, an internationally recognised expert in Functional Safety [#191/12] SIS.

The course material contains many practical examples and class exercises but the emphasis is on 3 workshops where delegates get to experience real life situations and gain valuable hands-on skills in representative practical conditions.

Successful participants, who also have sufficient functional safety experience, will be awarded the internationally recognised and sought after TÜV FS Engineer certification.

Target Group

Control and Instrument (C&I) Engineers, Process Engineers, Application Engineers and Safety Engineers as well as Operating and Maintenance (O&M) staff who are involved in any part of the safety lifecycle; including the specification, design or O&M of safety instrumented systems, Process or Emergency Shut Down Systems or Fire and Gas Systems.


Display all Hide all

Day 1

  • Introduction to IEC61511 and IEC61508;
  • Functional Safety Management and the Overall Safety Lifecycle;
  • Competency Management and Assessment;
  • Process Hazard Identification and Risk Assessment;
  • Workshop 1 (Hazard Identification).

Day 2

  • Concept of Risk and Risk Reduction
  • Safety Integrity Level Determination
  • Workshop 2 (Setting SIL Targets)
  • Safety Allocation
  • Architectural Requirements
  • Safety Requirements Specification

Day 3

  • Design and Development of the Safety Instrumented Function;
  • Reliability Techniques;
  • Failure rates and data sources;
  • Workshop 3 (SIL Verification);
  • Fault Tree Analysis;
  • Failure Modes, Effects and Criticality Analysis;
  • Installation, Commissioning and Validation; Operation and Maintenance;
  • Modification and Decommissioning.

Day 4

  • Opportunity for discussion;
  • Exam Preparation.
  • Examination


As required by the TÜV Rheinland Functional Safety Training Program:

  • A minimum of 3 experience in the field of functional safety, and
  • University degree in Engineering, or equivalent engineering experience and responsibilities as certified by employer or engineering institution.

Persons who do not have the required business experience may participate in the training as well as the exam. If they pass the exam successfully the FS Engineer (TÜV Rheinland) certificate will be issued to them as soon as the necessary 3 years of business experience in the area of functional safety are achieved.


A four (4) hour two part competency examination compromising:

Part 1 = 70 multiple-choice questions

Part 2 = 10 multiple part questions

The pass score is 75%.


Please contact course provider.